Dune

Dune (Dune Chronicles, #1)Dune by Frank Herbert

Set in the far future amidst a sprawling feudal interstellar empire where planetary dynasties are controlled by noble houses that owe an allegiance to the imperial House Corrino, Dune tells the story of young Paul Atreides (the heir apparent to Duke Leto Atreides & heir of House Atreides) as he & his family accept control of the desert planet Arrakis, the only source of the “spice” melange, the most important & valuable substance in the cosmos.

I promised myself to expand my reading genre with SciFi & Fantasy – attempting to be a well rounder reader. I seem to have a former mental block regrading these two genres for an unknown reason. Luckily I am an open mined gal and keep my promises and boy am I glad to be me. I can’t stress how taken I was with Herbert and Dune.

I’m not a regular reader of SciFi but Herbert strikes a hit with Dune. No surprise it is the world’s best-selling science fiction novel and is the start of the Dune saga. Herbert’s plot, various intrigues and endless twists and turns leads to an engrossing read. Captivating my attention I finished this in a day and a half – I am looking forward to the rest of the series, rare for me.

Herbert wrote with such plausible detail, the characters so well developed they became all to real and familiar, way more than characters in a novel. Dune is incredible despite the differences and similarities to reality, another point I enjoyed.

Herbert and Dune will be placed among my other favorites in the SciFi genre along side Asimov, Heinlein, Niven and Bradbury,  too many to list.


Published June 1st 2006 by Hodder & Stoughton
Pages 604
ISBN13: 9780340839935

Recommendation: 4/5

One thought on “Dune

  1. Glenda S. Hefty

    I checked out this review on Dune because I love the book, the whole series, which I read many years ago and have copies of them all on my shelf. I liked the review but had to laugh at the “implausible details” part as I think you probably meant plausible. I’m glad other people do things like that!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

