The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

image
Published August 12th 2014 by Atria Books (first published January 1st 2013)
Hardcover, 400 pages
ISBN13: 9781476702995

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Read this book if you think your family is dysfunctional. I guarantee that this book will make your family look positively bland in comparison.I could not put down this obsessive read. It was fascinating to read about a family dealing with the aftermath of a mother with a hording disorder. Like many people, I have watched the popular hoarding reality show “Buried Alive” but I never truly understood how deep the rabbit hole really went for people suffering from this affliction.

When I told my mother about the story she said it sounded like a Jerry Springer episode, and I suppose she has a point. However this novel is so much more than that and I think this is where the cover truly shines. The bird family’s destruction really came about like the slow cracks of an egg. It was just one thing after another until it all fell apart.

I loved all of the characters, even the ones I hated! Even though all of this insanely dramatic stuff was happening I still felt that everyone was painfully real.

This novel broke my heart but I still felt very satisfied with the ending. Even if I was still holding grudges with some of the characters, I felt that the ending was so perfect and healing. I feel infinitely lucky to have been able to receive a galley of this book. Many thanks to Lisa and Atria publishing. I would definitely recommend this for a book club read. 6/5

One thought on “The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

  1. Pingback: Books I’m Grateful I Read Giveaway Hop November 1 – 14 | A Tattered Copy

Leave a Reply

