The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

16429619Finally a badass heroine I can get behind. I had put off reading this book for a while, partly because of its length and partly because the description didn’t really grab me. However I ended up really enjoying this book. How is it that all the books I put off reading turn out to be the good ones? Damn Murphy and his law.

Like I said, I loved the main character Lia. She starts off naive and weak, but the author weaves genuine and heartfelt character growth into the novel. Lia makes some annoying mistakes, but if I am honest with myself I would probably have made those same mistakes myself. In this regard you have a character who is relatable and easy to care for.

A word of warning though, this novel contains the cursed love triangle that plagues many YA novels. But wait! Don’t let that deter you from reading this book. I know many people detest love triangles but! I thought that this one was done well. Lia can be a little annoying regarding the two love interests but at no point did I feel that she was being selfish.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. Started off a little slow, but once the pace picked up I couldn’t put this down.


Published July 8th 2014 by Henry Holt
Kindle Edition, 492 pages
ASINB00I1W23A4
Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Leave a Reply

