Tear You Apart (Beau Rivage) by Sarah Cross

imageThis retelling of Snow White has not managed to enamour me to the genre of modern fairytales. The concept was interesting but I did find it hard to wrap my head around at times. There was also a lot of fairy tale characters in this novel and the author assumed that the reader knew every tale, therefore not bothering to explain a lot of their stories.

I found the main character Vivian to be an annoying spoiled brat who treated her on again off again boyfriend like shit. I found it hard to feel any sympathy towards her and she acted so entitled all the time. I loved Henley(the huntsman and her love interest), he was way too good for Vivian and because of this my view of him dimmed a little when he started becoming a doormat.

There was also some weird plot holes involving the curses that I can’t explain without spoiling the story.

Overall decent read but I would suggest picking this up from the library rather than buying. If you are a fan of retellings though you will probably enjoy this more.


Hardcopy, 384 pages
Expected publication: January 27th 2015 by EgmontUSA
ISBN13: 9781606845912

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

3 thoughts on “Tear You Apart (Beau Rivage) by Sarah Cross

  1. Dana

    I have not read that although I probably should have. I don’t think I like the writing style enough to read anything more by this author though. I do find her writing to be a bit young.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

