People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Competitive Crafters, Drop-Off Despots, and Other Suburban Scourges by Jen Mann

18248422

I’m pretty picky when it comes to humour novels. Comedy is so subjective that I don’t even check reviews when picking out such books because it’s just too difficult to rate. There are many popular humour books that I absolutely hate, luckily this was not one of them.

I often have a hard time with female comics(I know I know I’m betraying my gender) but seriously I just don’t find most female comics funny. There seems to only be one available subject for these women and that is sex(usually going on and on about what a “big whore” they are…Amy Schumer I’m looking at you).

What I enjoy(and what this book delivers on),is the other less popular but still entertaining subject of “bad mom humour”, and I must admit that I am a sucker for this.

This book was really funny and better than I thought it would be. It’s not quite at the level of How Not to Calm a Child on a Plane: And Other Lessons in Parenting from a Highly Questionable Source but it’s still a barrel of laughs. I would definitely recommend this, and you don’t need to be a mother to enjoy this book.

I look forward to checking out this authors other works. Overall I would rate this as a buy.

Pst: This book contains lots of swears.


Paperback, 208 pages
Published September 9th 2014 by Ballantine Books
ISBN13: 9780345549839

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

2 thoughts on “People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Competitive Crafters, Drop-Off Despots, and Other Suburban Scourges by Jen Mann

  1. Jan Lee

    How do you rate a review like it says to do in a rafflecopter entry? Is it just agreeing with the reviewer after reading the review?? I do agree with this review as I read this book too.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

