100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith

 

20493997

Warning: Rant Incoming.

I had so many issues with this novel…where do I start? How about with the gross overuse of the terms ” I’ve got a boner” ,”ridiculous” and “knackery”(we get it everything is a damn knackery!).

The characters are 17 but act more like 13, which may or may not be a realistic portrayal of teenage boys. Finn was kind of an asshole, and although his outbursts were always blamed on his ” blank outs”, an asshole is an asshole is an asshole. What really grinded my gears to the point of no redemption was his assumption that his crush would want to have sex with him after recently getting RAPED !!

The first half of the book reminded me a bit of John Green, with the quirky and somewhat random personalities of all involved characters but after 50% the novel just became more and more boring.

The one good thing that I can say about this book is that I did enjoy Finns’ relationship with his father, and the writing did make me chuckle a few times. I do think that this author has talent and I would probably check out another book by him. I’m going to give this a 3/5, even though it wasn’t my cup of tea I do think it has an audience.


Hardcover, 277 pages
Published September 2nd 2014 by Simon &​ Schuster
ISBN13: 9781442444959

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

 

2 thoughts on “100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith

Leave a Reply

