Walking Home by Eric Walters

 

image

It is a rare talent for an author to weave a story that is mature enough for young adults and yet still appropriate for children, however Mr. Walters has succeeded in this task magnificently. I could not put this book down, I was up all night reading it, desperate to find out how Muchoki and Jatat’s journey ended.

I can’t remember the last book I read where the main characters were so loveable. This had me rooting for them the entire time. Jata is a little ray of sunshine that often had me chuckling, and Muchoki is just an amazing child with characteristics that many adults, including myself would be wise to try and copy.

I think that this book should be in every middle grade curriculum and I would strongly recommend this book to children and young adults alike.


Paperback, 304 pages
Published September 23rd 2014 by Doubleday Canada
ISBN13: 9780385681575

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

2 thoughts on “Walking Home by Eric Walters

Leave a Reply

