Frozen (Heart of Dread #1) by Melissa de la Cruz, Michael Johnston

image

I liked this book more than I thought I would. It was a really fun read and I found the plot so engrossing. I did think that the world building could have been more in depth and I yearned for a deeper understanding of the magical people in the world. However since there will be more books after this, I am willing to be patient and have faith that the vagueness and curiosities will be elaborated on.

I also found this novel to drag a bit at times. However this does not mean that I didn’t like it ,I can be pretty patient with pacing so I still had fun with this book.

I really liked Nat ( well apart from her stupid name that constantly brought to mind annoying bugs), thankfully however Nat’s similarity with the bug is in name alone. Nat is brave and funny and a normal relatable girl(apart from her crazy power anyways).

As for the male lead Wes, I wasn’t really a fan of his. I felt that his personality was a little inconsistent and I was turned off of him right from the beginning. The issue was that he is depicted in general as this hard on the outside, soft on the inside moral hero. However early in the novel he was contemplating doing something very evil and it was only by a miracle that he didn’t go through with it.

For this reason I was not able to reconcile my past feelings over his actions. In that way the love story didn’t really work for me. Also there is a dash of insta- love and I know some people have issues with that, I wouldn’t have minded it if I thought that the characters were well suited, but for me it doesn’t really work.

Overall I would recommend giving this a read, if you enjoyed other works by this author then I am confident that you will enjoy this book.


Hardcover, 336 pages
Published September 17th 2013 by Putnam Juvenile
ISBN13: 9780399257544

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Recommendation: 3/5

10 thoughts on “Frozen (Heart of Dread #1) by Melissa de la Cruz, Michael Johnston

Leave a Reply

