The Lost Sisterhood by Anne Fortier

image

“The farther backward you can look, the farther forward you are likely to see.” ― Winston Churchill

This book is an amazing and epic Amazon adventure. The story is broken into duel narratives of the past and present. I normally am not a fan of time jumping narratives but the author weaved the two narratives together with mesmerizing perfection.

It took me a while to get through this book. Not simply because of its length but because there was just so much adventure and intrigue that I couldn’t marathon this book. This is a story that deserves to be savoured.

I can truly say that at no moment was I bored of this book, in fact it has spurred in me, an interest in Amazon history. I love when books influence you so deeply that it leads to many more books on the subject.

My only tiny issue with this novel is that the language of the present day narrative felt very dated. I had actually thought that the main characters timeline was in the 40s or 50s until the mention of a cell phone, which left me quite flabbergasted.

Apart from the slightly dated language, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and would eagerly recommend it to everyone.


528 pages
Published March 11th 2014 by HarperCollins Canada
ISBN13: 9781443412469

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Recommendation: 5/5

4 thoughts on “The Lost Sisterhood by Anne Fortier

  1. Leona

    Sounds quite interesting. I have an Amazon-like army of women in my WIP novel, but they are mercenaries and their culture is a bit different from the Amazons.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

