Brew (Salem’s Revenge #1) by David Estes

Brew_cover

DNF @ 58%

That’s it! I give up!The constant racial descriptions exclusive to that of only “dark skinned”, “chocolate” and “ midnight black” skin has driven me to such frustrations that I can no longer continue reading this book. I find it offensive that the author expects me to assume that everyone is white unless awkwardly described in some “creative” way as black. Just way too awkward, way too forced, way too annoying.

Despite my huge issue with the above, I also had other problems with this story. I found all of the characters to be pretty annoying, especially Laney. Cant a girl be feisty without being a massive bitch? I also found the protagonist’s friends introductions to be random and forced, and a little too convenient for my tastes.

I keep finding myself being drawn to this author because I love his plot concepts, and while this was no exception, the execution just didn’t cut it for me. In general I liked where the story was heading, but there were just too many needless distractions in this book that took me out of “ the moment”. I tried to finish this and I am sure that there are some interesting twists ahead, but unfortunately for me I am not willing to trudge through the bad parts to find the good. 2.5/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Borrow (for the unique plot concept)


Kindle Edition, 399 pages
Published October 1st 2014
ASINB00NE7DUQM

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Recommendation: 2/5

One thought on “Brew (Salem’s Revenge #1) by David Estes

Leave a Reply

