Getting Waisted: A Survival Guide to Being Fat in a Society That Loves Thin by Monica Parker

image

” I was starving-not in a third-world famine kind of way, but in a deprived food-loving, fat-girl kind of way”Getting Waisted

Like many woman I have been on and off the diet bandwagon more times than I can count. Like my mother and her mother before her, I have become obsessed with my weight. Ironically whether I was fat or slim, the obsession never ceased.

This very relatable story follows one woman’s slow acceptance of her body. It is humorous and witty and I really enjoyed reading about all of the amusing, if not horrifying diets that she has tried. However most of the novel centers on her insecurities and at times it can be hard to swallow all the negativity.

It was sad that it took her so long to finally accept who she was. On the other hand this novel was a good wake up call, to stop wasting your life and money wishing you are something you’re not and to just live your life.

Overall I thought that the humour was Grade A and I loved how the novel was set up with each chapter highlighting a different diet she had tried, however the book does sometimes veer a little too closely to depressing for those looking for a funny and light read.


Paperback, 278 pages
Published April 1st 2014 by Health Communications
ISBN13: 9780757317743

Reviewer: Dana
| Goodreads |

Recommendation: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

